Photo by Bert Forbes Photo by Bert Forbes Photo by Bert Forbes Photo by Bert Forbes Photo by Bert Forbes

Environmental Grant Fund

The Environmental Grant Fund (formerly the SLO County Environmental Awards Fund) has been redirected to provide grants to local organizations that are working towards the betterment of the environment or ecology of San Luis Obispo County. Grants from the Environmental Grant Fund are now being pooled with other funds as part of The Community Foundation’s General Grants Program.

The History of the Environmental Grant Fund's Awards Program

From 2002 through 2009, awards were made to recognize and reward an individual, group or organization that has made a worthwhile contribution to the betterment of the environment or ecology of San Luis Obispo County. Awards were made in three categories:

  • Environmental Achievement of the Year – honor an individual or group that made the single most important environmental contribution duirng the prior year;
  • Sustained Environmental Contribution – honoring a sustained body of environmental activism, by an individual or group, that has taken place over a period of time;
  • Environmental Initiative – honoring a unique or innovative environmental effort by an individual or group

2009 Environmental Award Winners

Herb Kandel, Environmental Achievement of the Year 
Pete Sarafian, Sustained Environmental Contribution  
Shelby S. Bohl, Environmental Initiative Award

2009 Environmental Award Winners Honored at SLO Botanical Gardens
Injured seabirds, an elfin forest, an historic adobe – all saved and protected by this year’s winners

Past award recipients include:


  • 2009 Herb Kandel
  • 2008 Cayucos Land Conservancy
  • 2007 Pacific Wildlife Care & Barbie Dugan
  • 2005 American Land Conservancy, California Rangeland Trust, Steve Hearst and Hearst Ranch Conservation Now
  • 2004 California Conservation Corps—Los Padres District
  • 2003 Land Conservancy of San Luis Obispo County
  • 2002 Marla Morrissey—Morro Estuary Greenbelt Alliance


  • 2009 Pete Sarafian
  • 2008 Mark DiMaggio
  • 2007 Bonnie & Dirk Walters
  • 2006 Shirley Bianchi
  • 2005 Ray Belknap


  • 2009 Shelby S. Bohl
  • 2008 Teens at Work
  • 2007 Congregation Beth David
  • 2007 Friends of the SLO Botanical Garden
  • 2007 Oceano Community Center
  • 2006 Individual Beverly Gingg
  • 2006 Organization Friends of the Elephant Seal
  • 2005 The Palm Theater, Jim Dee
  • 2004 Montessori Children’s School


  • Second Place: Environmental Center of San Luis Obispo County
  • Honorable Mention: Central Coast Vineyard Team


  • Second Place: Central Coast Salmon Enhancement
  • Honorable Mention: Habitat for Humanity—ReStore Program

Find a Grant

Upcoming Events